I've forgotten my password
Sevenoaks Symphony Orchestra

The Sevenoaks Symphony Orchestra, founded in 1944, is made up of 70 local musicians with a professional conductor and leader. We are set up as a charity, and our aim is to make live orchestral music available locally.

Our three subscription concerts each season focus particularly on 19th and 20th century masterpieces which are attractive and enjoyable for our audiences, and at the same time interesting and challenging for us as players. In addition we present our very popular Family Concerts in October and a Taste of Classics concert in the New Year, a short mid-week concert with complimentary glass of wine. We also team up with the Sevenoaks Philharmonic Choir for a joint concert in June.

Most of our concerts take place in the Stag Community Arts Centre, our local theatre. Our May concerts are held in the Pamoja Hall at Sevenoaks School. Details of the programmes can be found here.

We rehearse each Wednesday from 8-10.15pm at Sevenoaks Primary School. 

You can find us on Facebook here or follow us on Twitter.

Joanna Kiely (Chairman)

****** our next Subscription concert ********

Summer Classics

20th May 2018 at 7:30 PM

Pamoja Hall, Sevenoaks School

This concert takes place at the Pamoja Hall at Sevenoaks School. We invite our audience to arrive from 6:30 to enjoy some refreshments before the performance.

Mendelssohn's atmospheric overture, Fingal's Cave, makes a wonderful opening work for a summer concert. It will be followed by Chopin's Piano Concerto No.2, with music full of the Polish composer's characteristic touches, and we can look forward to some virtuosic playing from our young Polish soloist, Artur Haftman.

As a taster, you can watch Artur on YouTube, playing a Chopin Polonaise

Schubert's incidental music for a long-forgotten play, Rosamunde, has remained very popular, with good reason - delightful tunes and delicate scoring. Beethoven's seventh symphony, which the composer spoke of fondly as "one of my best works" will end the evening with a rousing triple forte. 

If you would like to get a flavour of the pieces in this program, here are some links to YouTube:

Mendelssohn, Fingal's Cave

Chopin, Piano Concerto No.2

Schubert, Ballet Music from Rosamunde

Beethoven, Symphony No. 7

This concert is part of our season ticket scheme, other tickets are on sale from the box office at Sevenoaks School.


Please note that the Login facility is only for members of the orchestra.

Upcoming events

Powered by Conceptulise CMS